The Miami (A Cocktail)

I am without a picture as I write this, but I am drinking it so I know it’s good from experience.

I love Manhattans. In my estimation, they are about the perfect drink. 2 parts Whiskey (preferably Rye), one part Sweet Vermouth, a few dashes of Angostura Bitters, shake, pour, save the crappy red cherry for someone that gives a damn, and enjoy. Classy, manly, yet still sweet and easy to enjoy.

Lately though, I have been taken by the Basin Street. 2 parts Whiskey, one part Grand Marnier,  and a splash of lemon juice. Shaken and served in a cocktail glass. Also delicious, though with a bit warmer and less sweet on initial taste as the Manhattan.

Tonight, I made the natural progression and combined the two. I have dubbed it the Miami. Manhattan’s more citrus flavored suburb.

The Miami

  • 2 parts Bourbon (I use Woodford Reserve)
  • 1 part Grand Marnier
  • 2 dashes Angostura Bitters

Pack cocktail glass with ice. Add ice to mixing glass and add dashes of bitters. Pour in the remaining ingredients. Stir vigorously (don’t shake, so you can avoid the ice shards watering down the drink). Empty ice from cocktail glass and strain drink into glass. Serve with twist of Orange Peel, or if you are lazy like me, drink as is. Enjoy.

One response to “The Miami (A Cocktail)

Leave a Reply

