Dill Pickles

Mostly gone by the time I took this picture.

Mostly gone by the time I took this picture.

2 posts in one evening? Wild! This is a quick one, and I wasn’t even planning on doing a recipe here, but it just turned out too good.

The commissary had some fresh dill in stock and without a plan I picked some up. I also picked up a cucumber (not a pickling one, mind you, a normal salad type cuke) and decided that pickles were the right call. I love pickles, my last go ’round with them was a few years ago, and they were not good. Needless to say, I was a bit gun shy. But I went ahead and they were fantastic. This is basically the same recipe as the green beans, just accessorized a bit differently. This basic recipe has now delivered two very successful recipes, and I am sure it will lead to many more.

Quick Dill Pickles

  • 1 Cucumber, cut into slices
  • 1 Bunch of Fresh Dill
  • 2-8 Cloves of Garlic, whole 
  • 1/2 t. Coriander Seeds
  • 1/2 t. Caraway Seeds
  • 1.5 c. White Vinegar
  • 1.5 c. Water
  • 2 T. Kosher Salt
  • 2 T. Cane Sugar

Place cukes, dill and garlic into a jar, evenly dispersed throughout. Pour seeds in on top.

Bring vinegar, water, salt and sugar to a boil and remove from heat. Pour in the jar until full. Leave uncovered or lightly capped on the counter until cooled to room temperature. Screw the cap on tight and place in the fridge for up to a few weeks. If they last that long.

 

Leave a Reply

