Asahi Red Eye with an Omelet

Walking through the beer aisle in the local market I always see if there is anything new or interesting I can sample. The Japanese sell individual beers for about the same price as a soda (110-150 Yen) so it isn’t a big deal to grab one for sampling later. Yesterday, we were at the closest Nakamura (エレナ) grocery store picking up stuff for this morning’s breakfast and I saw an Asahi beer I had never seen.

Things to note in this picture: A copy of Charcuterie for a potential upcoming project (and one currently curing); burp cloth and bottle parts for the little person sitting next to me; the only picture of the recipe at the bottom of the page; a tomato flavored beer.

Things to note in this picture: A copy of Charcuterie for a potential upcoming project (and one currently curing); burp cloth and bottle parts for the little person sitting next to me; the only picture of the recipe at the bottom of the page; a tomato flavored beer.

Called Red Eye, It was a red can with tomatoes on the front. I was kinda expecting something like a Budweiser Chelada, though I haven’t actually ever had a Chelada. It seemed, appropriately enough for the shopping trip, to be a beer aimed at breakfast. So I picked some up, and tried it this morning with my bad ass omelet.

It poured initially like a standard light Japanese beer, but as I got to the bottom, the tomato juice kicked up and gave it a nice dark amber color. The smell was decidedly tomato, and was initially a bit off putting. Though after drinking it, the smell became less noticeable. The flavor was sweeter than I expected, almost like a fruit beer. On first taste my wife said it reminded her, surprisingly, of Abita’s Purple Haze which is a raspberry beer out of Louisiana. All the more fitting that I poured it into one of my (many) trusty Bulldog pint glasses.

Swirl before pouring. I think shaking would be a bad call.

Swirl before pouring. I think shaking would be a bad call.

Verdict: Not my thing. But an interesting beer to start your day with. Also, I could see it serving well as a hair-of-the-dog type remedy for which it is advertised.

Omelet Recipe I suppose?

Italian Sausage Omelet

  • 1/4 lb Italian Sausage, crumbled and cooked
  • 1/3 c. Diced Bell Pepper
  • 1 c. Chopped Bunashimeji Mushrooms (or other mild meaty mushroom)
  • As Much Mozzarella Cheese as You Deem Necessary
  • 1 T. Butter
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1/2 c. Milk
  • Garlic Powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Melt butter in a saute pan, and add bell pepper. Cook for about 3 minutes, or until they start getting soft. Add mushrooms and saute for an additional 2-3 minutes. Add sausage and cook until thoroughly combined and mushrooms are very soft, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat.

Put eggs, milk, garlic powder, salt and pepper into a mixing bowl and whisk (or stick blender) thoroughly. Heat a small omelet pan, coated thoroughly with cooking spray, and add half of the egg mixture. Allow it to set before adding a sufficient quantity of the meat/veg mixture, I’ll let you decide what is sufficient. Prior to folding add a sufficient amount of the Mozz, fold and finish cooking both sides. Serve and garnish with a dollop of sour cream, a light sprinkle of Italian Seasoning, and a quick grate of Parmesan.

Repeat with the second omelet, and enjoy with a tomato based beer.

Leave a Reply

